Lamineries Matthey
A unit of NOTZ METAL SA
Montagu 38
Case postale
CH-2520 LA NEUVEVILLE

Phone. +41 32 752 32 32
Fax +41 32 752 32 00

Menu

Languages

 FR - EN - DE - 中国的

Search

Precision cold rolled strip and foil

Stainless steels

Corrosion resistance had long been the greatest problem for steels, which was solved only after 1910. In order to classify steel "stainless steel", it must contain at least 10.5 % of chromium and less than 1.2 % of carbon. The European standard has two definitions for stainless steel:

  • The marking starts with the letter "X", followed by the carbon content x 100, then the chemical symbols for the alloy elements in descending sequence according to their content. The average content of these ingredients is subsequently defined, separated by hyphens in the same descending sequence.
  • The numeric designation deriving from the obsolete DIN standard includes 5 digits and commences with 1.4; the third digit relates to a certain type of steel family and reflects the chemical composition.

From a technical point of view, stainless steels are divided into four main groups according to their structure: ferritic, martensitic, austenitic and precipitation-hardenable.

Ferritic stainless steels are iron/chromium or iron/chromium/molybdenum alloys with a chromium content between 10.5 and 28 % and a carbon content not exceeding 0.08 %. These steels normally contain no nickel and harden only by cold deformation.

The martensitic stainless steels or precipitation-hardenable stainless steels typically contain 12 to 19 % chromium and may also contain nickel, molybdenum as well as other additives. These steels exhibit good corrosion resistance, as well as mechanical properties that are equal to those of non-stainless alloyed steels. These properties are achieved after the appropriate heat treatment: Quench hardening and tempering of martensitic steel, quench-hardening and aging for steel with hardening feature. Lamineries MATTHEY offer martensitic steel 1.4034, X46Cr13 in the form of thin, rolled strips.

Among the steel types, austenitic steels are the most popular and are used most. Apart from a chromium content of 17 %, they contain nickel and perhaps molybdenum, titanium or niobium additives. The nickel content enables the austenitic structure that supports corrosion resistance. In fact, the missing second phase - e.g. martensite derived from the deformation or ferrite - promotes corrosion resistance. The addition of molybdenum improves resistance to chloride, sulphuric acid and other organic acids. This is the reason that stainless steel 1.4435, 316L, X2CrNiMo18-14-3 is often the best choice for watch making applications.

The mechanical strength of austenitic stainless steel is normally average, may however be increased substantially by cold rolling in case of certain types. A higher mechanical strength is obtained with steel 1.4310, X10CrNi18-8, its austenitic structure is however unstable and corrosion resistance is lower compared to 1.4435, 316L. A higher mechanical strength of steel 1.4310, X10CrNi18-, typically at 80 to 250 N/mm2 (depending on hardness grade) is achieved by annealing at a temperature between 380 and 420 °C. This stainless steel is generally used for springs. A diversity of types of 1.4310, X10CrNi18-8, for example used for snap domes is available on the market to enhance fatigue resistance and hardness.

Lamineries MATTHEY further offer a broad assortment of stainless austenitic steel, supplied in form of thin precision foils and strips, with a thickness of less than 0.010 mm

Stainless steel strips and foils

DescriptionTechnical file
1.4034 (St40) - Stainless steel / X46Cr13 / ~ AISI 420 
1.4057 - Stainless steel / CHRONIFER® M-15X / X17CrNi16-2 / AISI 431     1.4057_M-15X_C.pdf
1.4301 - Stainless steel / X5CrNi18-10 / AISI ~ 304    1.4301_C.pdf
1.4303 - Stainless steel / X4CrNi18-12 / ~ AISI 305 
1.4310 - Stainless steel / X10CrNi18-8 / ~ AISI 301    1.4310_C.pdf
1.4310.4 - Stainless steel / X10CrNi18-8 / ~ AISI 301    1.4310.4_C.pdf
1.4369 - Durnomag® / X11CrNiMnN19-8-6 / 13RM19     Durnomag.pdf
1.4401 - Stainless steel / X5CrNiMo17-12-2 / ~ AISI 316 
1.4404 - Stainless steel / X2CrNiMo17-12-2 / ~ AISI 316L 
1.4435 - Stainless steel / X2CrNiMo18-14-3 / ~ AISI 316L    1.4435_C.pdf
1.4441 - stainless steel (implants) / X2CrNiMo18-15-3 / ISO 5832-1 / ASTM F139  
1.4571 - Stainless steel / X6CrNiMoTi17-12-2 / ~ AISI 316Ti 
M 350 - Precipitation hardening stainless steel / S35000 / AISI 633  
(c) 2019- Lamineries Matthey

Lamineries Matthey
A unit of NOTZ METAL SA
Montagu 38
Case postale
CH-2520 LA NEUVEVILLE

Phone. +41 32 752 32 32
Fax +41 32 752 32 00

Menu

Sprachen

 FR - EN - DE - 中国的

Suchen

Kaltgewalztes Präzisionsband

Rostfreie Stähle

In der Geschichte des Stahls war Jahrhunderte lang Korrosionsbeständigkeit das große Problem, das erst in den Jahren nach 1910 gelöst werden konnte. Um Stahl in die Kategorie "rostfrei" einstufen zu können, muss er mindestens 10,5 % Chrom und weniger als 1,2 % Kohlenstoff enthalten. Die europäische Norm sieht für rostfreie Stähle zwei Bezeichnungen vor:

  • Die symbolische Bezeichnung beginnt mit dem Buchstaben "X", gefolgt vom Kohlenstoffgehalt x100, dann kommen die chemischen Symbole der Legierungselemente in absteigender Reihenfolge nach ihrem Gehalt. Der durchschnittliche Gehalt an diesen Bestandteilen wird anschließend angegeben, getrennt durch Bindestriche, in der gleichen absteigenden Reihenfolge.
  • Die zahlenmäßige Bezeichnung aus der früheren DIN-Norm enthält 5 Zahlen und beginnt mit 1.4; die dritte Zahl entspricht einer bestimmten Stahlsortenfamilie und berücksichtigt die chemische Zusammensetzung.

Aus technischer Sicht werden rostfreie Stähle nach ihrer Struktur in vier Hauptfamilien unterteilt: Ferritisch, martensitisch, austenitisch und Ausscheidungsgehärtet

Die ferritischen rostfreien Stähle sind Eisen/Chrom oder Eisen/Chrom/Molybdän Legierungen, deren Chromgehalt zwischen 10,5 und 28 % variiert und deren Kohlenstoffgehalt nicht über 0,08 % liegt. Diese Stähle enthalten normalerweise kein Nickel und härten nur durch Nachwalzen.

Die martensitischen rostfreien Stähle oder ausscheidungsgehärteten rostfreien Stähle enthalten normalerweise 12 bis 19 % Chrom und können Nickel, Molybdän sowie andere Zusätze enthalten. Diese Stähle weisen eine gute Korrosionsbeständigkeit sowie mechanische Eigenschaften auf, die denen von legierten nicht rostfreien Stählen gleich sind. Diese Eigenschaften werden nach einer geeigneten Wärmebehandlung erreicht: Abschreckhärtung und Anlassen bei martensitischen Stählen, Abschreckhärtung und Alterung bei Stählen mit Aushärtung. Die Lamineries MATTHEY bieten den martensitischen Stahl 1.4034, X46Cr13 in Form von dünnen gewalzten Bändern an.

Unter den Stahlsorten sind die austenitischen rostfreien Stähle die bekanntesten und werden am meisten verwendet; neben einem Chromgehalt von 17 % enthalten sie Nickel und eventuell Molybdän-, Titan- oder Niobiumzusätze. Der Nickelzusatz ermöglicht die austenitische Struktur, die die Korrosionsbeständigkeit fördert. Tatsächlich begünstigt die fehlende zweite Phase, z.B. Martensit, hervorgerufen durch die Verformung, oder Ferrit, die Korrosionsbeständigkeit. Molybdän verbessert in diesem Zusammenhang die Beständigkeit gegen Chlorid, Schwefelsäure und organische Säuren. Aus diesen Gründen ist der rostfreie Stahl 1.4435, 316L, X2CrNiMo18-14-3 oft die beste Wahl für die Uhrenmacherei.

Die mechanische Festigkeit der rostfreien austenitischen Stähle ist normalerweise durchschnittlich, kann jedoch bei bestimmten Sorten durch Walzen erheblich erhöht werden. Mit dem Stahl 1.4310, X10CrNi18-8 kann eine höhere mechanische Festigkeit erreicht werden, aber seine austenitische Struktur ist sehr instabil und seine Korrosionsbeständigkeit ist geringer als die von 1.4435, 316L. Der Stahl 1.4310, X10CrNi18- erfährt durch eine Anlassbehandlung zwischen 380 und 420 °C eine Erhöhung der mechanischen Festigkeit, die typischerweise bei 80 bis 250 N/mm2 liegt (je nach Härtegrad). Dieser rostfreie Stahl wird im Allgemeinen für Federn verwendet. Verschiedene Sorten des 1.4310, X10CrNi18-8, die zum Beispiel für Schnappscheiben verwendet werden, existieren auf dem Markt, um die Ermüdungsbeständigkeit und Härte zu erhöhen.

Die Lamineries MATTHEY bieten eine große Auswahl an rostfreien austenitischen Stählen an, die in Form von dünnen Präzisionsfolien und Bändern geliefert werden und deren Dicke bisweilen unter 0,010 mm liegen kann.

Rostfreie Stähle in Form von Bändern

BeschreibungTechnische Angaben
1.4034 (St40) - Nichtrostender Stahl / X46Cr13 / ~ AISI 420 
1.4057 - Nichtrostender Stahl / CHRONIFER® M-15X / X17CrNi16-2 / AISI 431     1.4057_M-15X_C.pdf
1.4301 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X5CrNi18-10 / AISI ~ 304    1.4301_C.pdf
1.4303 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X4CrNi18-12 / ~ AISI 305 
1.4310 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X10CrNi18-8 / ~ AISI 301    1.4310_C.pdf
1.4310.4 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X10CrNi18-8 / ~ AISI 301    1.4310.4_C.pdf
1.4369 - Durnomag® / X11CrNiMnN19-8-6 / 13RM19    Durnomag.pdf
1.4401 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X5CrNiMo17-12-2 / ~ AISI 316 
1.4404 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X2CrNiMo17-12-2 / ~ AISI 316L 
1.4435 - Nichtrostender Stahl X2CrNiMo18-14-3 / ~ AISI 316L    1.4435_C.pdf
1.4441 - Nichtrost. Stahl (Impl.) / X2CrNiMo18-15-3 / ISO 5832-1 / ASTM F139  
1.4571 - Nichtrostender Stahl / X6CrNiMoTi17-12-2 / ~ AISI 316Ti 
M 350 - Nichtrostender aushärtbarer Stahl / S35000 / AISI 633  

Voir aussi leurs tolérances dimensionnelles et les fiches "MSDS" de sécurité:

(c) 2019- Lamineries Matthey